Multiple VR headsets in direct collaboration mode

Hello, currently one can only have one VR user in direct collaboration mode. Would it be possible to add more VR users to a direct session, please?

I am an architect and I often meet a Client in the office or at their place over my laptop computer. More recently, I am talking my VR headset with me.

I would like to be able to add, move, change objects or edit the model while next to the Client in VR. For more complex operations, I would leave the headset aside and perform them directly on the computer while the Client remained in VR.

I wouldn’t want clients to be able to edit the model themselves, just to watch what I am doing either directly on the computer or in VR.

Would this be feasible? Many thanks and great work by the way :slight_smile:

Hello!

I am unsure of exactly what you mean by “add more VR users to a direct session”, but I can describe the various options that are already available. It seems that they already give you what you ask for.

Let me assume that you are using your laptop computer on which Sketchup is installed, and either you have a Quest standalone headset, or the laptop is a PC with a good graphics card and you are carrying a tethered VR headset.

You can run VR Sketch from Sketchup in this situation, and get exactly what you are asking for. You can make changes to the model in Sketchup, and the person in VR sees them immediately. Or you can be in VR, and make changes, and they are immediately visible in Sketchup on the laptop screen.

There is an option to disable editing from VR if you want to prevent the client from doing any change (in Sketchup, see Extensions -> VR Sketch -> Configuration), but usually we find that it is not really needed because doing accidental changes in VR requires quite a few steps.

Did I answer your question? Or do you have a different use case in mind (maybe several VR headsets)?